Vegetables

I think for the past two Thursdays (and today!) that a good friend of mine has been making a few of us dinner. This particular friend is an amazing cook and I wish that I could harbor his skills into my own cullinary creations. Why don’t I? Well… because when I cook it’s because I’m hungry. And when I’m hungry I eat just about anything. I’d easily prefer to pop in a frozen dinner (one of the lighter ones), add a salad, and call it a meal. It’s healthy, it’s easy, and there’s virtually no cleanup. Cleanup: insert box into trash. That’s really the way to go.

There’s one problem though. Boys don’t eat vegetables. I’ve even been told that if I want my own vegetables I must get them and cook them myself because he doesn’t want them soiling his meal. Excuse me? Vegetables don’t soil a meal! They add valuable nutrition content to it!

Off of my soap box. Kind of.

I got into a conversation last Friday will a fellow who doesn’t like vegetables (thus I really do think all boys must not like them). He was talking about how if he ate a vegetable it either had to be fried or disguised in some other way. When my salad arrived he realized that I wasn’t kidding about my love for vegetables and my disdain for too much dressing.

Last semester I didn’t eat quite so heathily. So of course I gained the “Freshman 15” even though it was Junior year and sadly I was not imunized for making it that far. It’s almost gone and honestly, I don’t even think my pants could tell. But that doesn’t mean I’ll miss it or that we’ve got this bond between us.

I remember being 9 and asking my mother to buy brussel sprouts at the grocery store because I had tried some and grandma’s house and I thought they were tasty. My mom looked at me like I was the weirdest kid ever.

Happy Thursday!

3 responses to this post.

  1. ash – not all guys. one of my uncles is a hardcore vegetarian. like he only eats the raw stuff. but most guys yes. i’ve had to teach matt to like some vegetables because the fact is i love veggies. matt has learned to really like zucchini, asparagus, cauliflower, and a few others. unfortunately we’re still working on some like mushrooms and brussel sprouts.

    Reply

  2. My uncle’s a farmer, he loves veggies πŸ™‚ Maybe it’s an age/maturity thing? Because most of the adult men I know really enjoy vegetables, but most of the younger guys still have that “ew gross” thing going on. I love veggies, myself πŸ™‚ Although, I’m not a fan of them cooked. I like them to crunch!

    Reply

  3. Excuse me, you’ve seen me eat TWO salads and you know I am a guy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

