On Volleyball

Senior year, November 2006. We lost to Fort Bend Baptist during the district tournament. It was over. And I thought that would be the last time I’d ever get to play volleyball.

Then I worked at my school for the YMCA over the summer. I went to a couple of the open gyms and it felt like old times. Huge gym, smelly floor, and no air conditioning to speak of. It was volleyball heaven at LSA. Surprisingly enough, I wasn’t past my prime yet. After spending several months with other sports, my first love and I felt like we’d never parted ways. That’s when I started to regret not being able to play in college.

New Student Conference came around and I found out that they had volleyball kinesiology classes. As a freshman, I wasn’t guaranteed a spot, but I thought surely I’d be able to find a class. Boy was I wrong. I rearranged my schedule to fit the volleyball class, but I wasn’t able to get in. Bummer. I thought it really was all over for me.

I found out they had volleyball intramurals sophomore year, but I didn’t get to play until junior year. I made a team with a few people from RUF who quickly became my new best friends. We went all the way to the semi-finals where we lost and I got a head injury.

Then springtime came and we had a sand team. I hadn’t really played competitive sand since my 15s club season. It was kind of hard to get used to, but still really fun. I’m so glad that I’ve bonded with these people. They are truly one of my favorite parts of A&M.

Now I’m playing volleyball all the time and I’ve met a lot of awesome people through it.

And that my friends, is why volleyball is and will always be my favorite sport. =]

One response to this post.

  1. Love volleyball! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

