Sincerest Apologies

Last Thursday I completely skipped out on blogging because I “had nothing to talk about”. That’s false. What I should have done was told y’all about Beware of Christians. It’s this documentary done by two Aggies, a guy from Georgetown, and a guy from Baylor. Two of the people in this were also in One Nation Under God which is another documentary about the Christian life. I just bought it today so I’m pretty excited about it getting here. I also can’t wait until Beware of Christians comes out on dvd.

Matt and Ashley, if you read this, I’m pretty sure BoC is coming to Waco on the 20th but you can google it to find out for sure. You should totally go see it, it’s awesome! I really wish it was coming to Houston so that all you Houstonians can see it.

So a little bit about BoC: it’s these 4 Christian guys that go to Europe and tour, I believe, 7 different countries and interview people on different things. There’s 7 different topics like church, materialism, sex, dating/relationships, etc. Basically it’s awesome. It also goes back to this table with four chairs where they all have a cup of coffee and there’s a bowl of apples. I’m not really sure of the significance there but it looks good. That’s probably it. Anyways, at the table they’re all talking about their trip and the people they met. There was this one guy named Victor that was helping these women tell their stories about their conversion at a bus stop.

At Bible study the other day we were talking about our “stories”. I don’t really have one that’s that exciting. I was sitting in church one day listening to the sermon and I thought “why am I not baptized? I believe in Jesus. I know He’s my Savior and I want to commit my life to serving him”. Then my dad and I were driving to Sam’s and he was telling me how sorry he was that he didn’t talk to me more about God and Jesus and the Bible. I told him then that I wanted to be baptized. That was a completely random thing for my dad to start talking about so I took it as an opportunity from God to let my dad in on what I was thinking about. And that’s my story.

I’m not sure if this was from BoC or from Bible study or what, but some people were talking about following their hearts. You’ve all heard that phrase when you’re making a decision. “Follow your heart”, which, after reading Jeremiah, doesn’t really seem like such good advice.

Jeremiah 17: 9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and it is exceedingly corrupt: who can know it?

Really, why would you want to follow something deceitful or corrupt?

Ecclesiastes 9:3 This is an evil in all that is done under the sun, that there is one event unto all: yea also, the heart of the sons of men is full of evil, and madness is in their heart while they live, and after that they go to the dead.

Ouch. But true story. I’ll leave you with something on a lighter note.

Luke 10:27 YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND

I’m a fan of themes. Anyways, that’s all from me today. Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

