Ten on Tuesday (#?)

I have no idea which number this actually is, so I might have to edit it, or I’ll just be lazy. Bachelor started last night and of course, I was excited about that. Tomorrow’s post is going to be about my Grandpa, cause guess what! It’s his birthday. Now for the questions.

1. Are there any movies that inspire you to bake/cook?
There’s this one that has Hilary Duff in it, where the mom’s a baker. So there’s that one. And of course Julie & Julia makes me want to cook.
2. What’s your favorite food blog and why?
I don’t really have a favorite food blog, mostly because I haven’t really looked at any of the food blogs. Sorry.
3. Who’s your favorite celebrity chef?
I guess I don’t really have a favorite celebrity chef either. Man, I’m really slacking in the food world. But I can tell you which chef I truly can’t stand. Bobby Flay. In fact, I watch Bobby Flay’s Showdown just so I can watch him lose.
4. What’s your favorite kitchen tool?
Ooh… The can opener. Why? because I like twisting the handle. It’s difficult. It’s a challenge. I’m weird. My parents have this can opener where you just pop the thing on and crank the handle till it goes around all the way. That takes all the fun out of it, really.
5. When it comes to cooking/baking, what’s your specialty?
Alright, so I make these cookies that are mint chocolate chip, and they’re pretty much my favorite. Also, coffee brownies. I can make fetucchini alfredo from scratch that’s pretty good.
6. When in the kitchen, do you wear an apron, if so, any cute ones you’d like to share?
I don’t wear an apron. I don’t even own an apron. Mostly I just stick lean cuisine’s in the microwave between my shower and my meetings at night and oatmeal in the morning. I know, how lame.
7. Is there anything that intimidates you when it comes to baking/cooking? (ex. Pie crust, yeast breads, sauces, etc…)
Alright so the week before finals I made a pizza and it was pretty good, but then I made one at home and it SUCKED. The crust was just all wrong and now I’m afraid to try it again. I think it’s cause I used self-rising. Self-rising flour is no good.
8. What’s the weirdest gadget in your kitchen?
I don’t have any weird gadgets, mostly because I don’t have any gadgets in the kitchen I actually call mine. We have: spoons, forks, knives, steak knives, serving utensils, a pizza cutter, a can opener… and I think that’s it. A microwave… a strainer… yeah. See how there’s no weirdness?
9. What’s your go-to music for cooking/baking?
I turn my itunes on when I actually do cook. I like to have a football game on in the background when I can.
10. After several failures, what do you do to motivate yourself to get back in the kitchen to try again?
Oh, yeah, I don’t fail that much. Mostly because I don’t try that much. But hunger usually works as a good motivator.

Ok, so this post just helped me realize that my cooking as become almost non-existant since college started. Ironically, I do have an actual kitchen, so we’ll see what I can do about that this year.

*Edit* I got back in the kitchen today and made a pizza. The crust was yummy. Yay!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I hate Bobby Flay too! I think he’s the most overrated chef ever. In fact my husband and I have a running joke because on Iron Chef he always makes ceviche no matter what the ingredient. Whenever we see the word we start laughing. Or if we don’t know what to do with a food that’s in the fridge one of us inevitably goes- oh I know!!! Ceviche!

    Reply

  2. I was just going to say give the pizza crust another try (homemade is way better!)…but you already beat me to it and did it again! Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

