It Runs in the Family

My parents have both run marathons. They’ve both run half marathons and various other races that were shorter distances. My uncle and my grandfather have also run in the same races. My family LOVES to run. I think that might have something to do with the fact that it’s fun. This is my opinion, not exactly the opinion of everyone else. Running is addicting. Once you push past that point where you don’t think you can go any further, you can just keep running, and running, and running till you feel like your legs are going to fall off. It’s one of the greatest feelings in the world (to me at least).

You know what else runs in my family? Knee problems and foot problems. I started experiencing knee problems in 7th grade when I started running track. I quit, and my knee felt fine. I didn’t run track again until senior year of high school and I’ve been running ever since. My mom, on the other hand, has sprained her ankle (bad sprains.. ER-worthy sprains) three times. This has kept her from running. My father has plantar facitis (I don’t know how that is spelled) and it hurts him to run. Both of my parents have gained weight from not being able to participate in one of their favorite forms of exercise, but have lost a lot due to their dieting and new-found love of power walking.

Right now my left foot is killing me. It started with a bit of an ache at the top of my arch and has spread. When I shift my weight to my left foot, it hurts. BAD. I haven’t been able to run all week and it’s killing me.

Back to the weight issues, I gained a lot over the summer. We’re talking 15 pounds here. But I lost it. I’m young. I’m just afraid that I’m going to gain it back now that I can’t run.

Anyways, my mom and I are going jeans shopping over winter break. Jeans shopping is one of my least favorite activities. Why? Because I’m a woman and I’m shaped like a woman. Ridiculous, right? I’m too small for my new(er) jeans, and still too small for my jeans from high school. The ones that do fit me are are so old that they’re wearing out. Sheesh.

I hate trying on jeans. I love quality time with my mother. See the mixed feelings about this event? Pray for our sanity on this up-and-coming day. And on a more serious note, pray for my foot to be healed?

Leave a Reply

